Journeys with Joe

Volunteer Tourism

Note

On April 3, 2016 Rosmeary McClure wrote an article titled “Giving Back While Traveling” in the Los Angeles Times.

On Sunday, April 17, 2016; Ross Layton from Battambang, Cambodia responded by saying that the orphanages mentioned in the article were in fact using the children, most who are not orphans, to make money. Why do the families give their children to the orphanage? Because they are too poor to care for them. He suggests that ones humanity could be better served by supporting organizations that provide social work and community services.

Do your homework; and ask questions!

How

Associations

Good Travels Advisor: https://www.goodtravelsadvisor.org/; “Find your guide to making a difference!”

Tourism Cares: http://www.tourismcares.org/; “We give better together”

Providers

Discover Corps: http://discovercorps.com/; “Vacations with Purpose, Your Adventure Awaits”. “Specializing in Trips to Cuba”.

Elevate Destinations: Volunteer; http://elevatedestinations.com/activities/volunteer/;

Enkosini Eco Experience: http://www.enkosini.org/index.html; “CONSERVATION WORK ON WILDLIFE PROJECTS & RESERVES IN SOUTHERN AFRICA”.

Fathom: https://www.fathom.org/; “Impact Travel”.

Global Aware: http://globeaware.org/; “Adventures in Service”.

Global Crossroads: http://www.globalcrossroad.com/lpb/volunteer-abroad.php; “Over 18,000 happy volunteers since 2003”.

Global Volunteers: https://globalvolunteers.org/; “Service Seriously”.

Hands Up Holidays: http://handsupholidays.com/; “Luxury travel blending sightseeing with serving”.

Kind Traveler: https://www.kindtraveler.com/; “Do More Than Travel”. “Kind Traveler is the first ‘Give + Get’ hotel booking platform that transforms travelers into a financial force for good. Travelers ‘give’ to a local or global charity, as reward for their donation, they ‘get’ an exclusive rate to book directly with the world’s best hotels and unique properties.”

Projects Abroad: http://www.projects-abroad.org/voluntourism/;

The International Ecotourism Society: http://www.ecotourism.org/voluntourism;

VolunTourism: http://www.voluntourism.org/;

World Adventures: Giving Back; http://www.worldventures.com/giving-back; “Dedicated to Making a Difference”.

Center map

Journeys with Joe Voluntourism

Welcome » Volunteer Tourism
cn_cookies_accepted()