Journeys with Joe

Insurance

When Traveling

Notes

Medicare: https://www.medicare.gov/coverage/travel-need-health-care-outside-us.html; “In general, health care you get while traveling outside the U.S. isn’t covered. The 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, and American Samoa are considered part of the U.S.”

PPO and HMOs: prior to traveling outside of the U.S.; call your insurance provider to see what is covered.
Many of the largest insurance providers cover emergency care abroad.
The big difference is that you will need to pay for the services up front; and then get reimbursed by your insurance company after saving all of the receipts.

Only 1/3rd of Americans buy some travel insurance; but it’s recommended for those over the age of 50.

Travel Agents: many have insurance.
Preexisting Conditions: may not be covered.
Medicare: does not cover outside the U.S..
Fine Print: want “Cancel for any Reason”.
Credit Card: always use to purchase travel insurance.
Document: what has happened.
Overseas coverage: should cover ambulances and an emergency flight (evacuation insurance).

Flight: really no need for.

Luggage: normally $3,000 max., and impossible to get that amount.
Unknown optional insurance called “Excess Valuation Insurance”; $1 for each $100 of coverage, up to $1,000.

Trip Interruption/ Cancellation: worth getting if spending a lot on the trip.

Overseas coverage should cover ambulances and an emergency flight (evacuation insurance).

Medical Coverage/ Evacuation: up to 2 million in coverage, an annual policy with MedJet Assist for an individual is $270.

Emergency medical evacuation insurance: “guaranteed payments”- Good, “reimbursement”- NO GOOD.

Types and Filters

Squaremouth.com website has filters one can select; and has the following major categories: e.g.
“This policy includes – Cancellation $700 – Interruption $1,050 – Medical Evacuation $500,000 – Medical $50,000 Primary (or Secondary)”.
Filters:
Trip Interruption
Emergency Medical
Medical Evacuation
Pre-existing Medical (Condition)
Cancel For Any Reason
Hazardous Sport
Primary Medical (if not then maybe Secondary)
Preset Filters; Cruise and Shengen Visa.

NOTE: Peter Greenberg only recommends MedjetAssist or AIG Travel Guard; since they are the only ones who evacuate you to your doctor of choice, not theirs.

Comparisons

InsureMyTrip.com: https://www.insuremytrip.com/; Warwick, RI.

M.H. Ross Travel Insurance Services: https://www.mhross.com; a Trip Mate brand.

Squaremouth: https://www.squaremouth.com/; compare 131 travel insurance policies from 23 providers.

Travel Insurance Center: https://www.travelinsurancecenter.com/; “Policy Picker”, 866 979-6753, 8420 West Dodge Road, Suite 510, Omaha, NE 68114.

Travel Insurance: http://www.travelinsurance.com/travel-insurance-quotes/.

Providers

AIG Travel Guard: http://www.travelguard.com/;

Allianz Global Assistance: https://www.allianztravelinsurance.com/;

AirMed: https://airmed.com/;

April International: http://en.april-international.com/us;

American Express: Platinum card members; individual or corporate.
American Express Global Assist: https://www.americanexpress.com/us/content/card-benefits/global-assist-hotline.html; 800 554-2639.

AXA Assistance USA: http://www.axa-assistance.us/;

Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection: https://www.bhtp.com/; AirCare- flight protection, flat rate, ExactCare- traditional travel insurance.

CSA Travel Protection: https://www.csatravelprotection.com/; San Diego-based.

Global Alert: https://www.globalalerttravel.com/;

HTH Worldwide: https://www.hthstudents.com/; health plans and services for study abroad and international students.

InsureandGo USA: http://www.insureandgousa.com/;

International SOS: https://www.internationalsos.com/; 800 523-8930.

John Hancock Travel Insurance: https://www.johnhancocktravel.com/;

MedEx: https://www.medexassist.com/default.aspx; a UnitedHealthcare Global Company.

Medjet Assist: https://medjetassist.com/; medical evacuation insurance.

Roam Right: http://www.roamright.com/;

Rough Guides Travel Insurance: http://www.roughguides.com/travel-insurance/;

STA Travel: http://www.statravel.com, 800 777-0112.

TinLeg: https://tinleg.com/;

Travel Insured International: https://www.travelinsured.com/;

TravelSafe Insurance: https://www.travelsafe.com/

Trawick International: https://www.trawickinternational.com/;

World Nomads: https://www.worldnomads.com/; 877 257-8108, recommended by Lonely Planet.

Journeys with Joe Travel Insurance

Welcome » Insurance
cn_cookies_accepted()